Can You Drink Wine On A Plant Based Diet?
Going plant-based can be tough, and it’s even harder when you can’t drink your favourite wines.
As wines are made from grapes and yeast, many people believe that all wine is vegan - however, this isn’t always the case.
Whether you’re on a plant-based diet for health reasons, for moral reasons, or simply to try something new, it’s always beneficial to know what you can and can’t consume and why.
Keep reading to find out whether you can drink wine and other beverages on a plant-based diet, and what the benefits of plant-based wine are.
Can You Drink Wine On A Plant-Based Diet?
Wine is essentially fermented grapes, so you may assume that wine is okay to drink if you’re on a plant-based diet.
This is partly true - many wines are suitable if you’re vegan or plant-based. However, some wines contain animal products.
Let’s start at the fermentation process. Fermentation is the part of the winemaking process where yeast is added to the grapes, triggering a reaction in the naturally occurring sugars in the grapes.
This process has several outcomes - heat, bubbles, and most importantly, alcohol.
Fermentation is the key to making wine, but it can give the wine a hazy or cloudy appearance. Right after a wine has been fermented, it can have molecules floating around.
The molecules are often phenolics or tartrates, and sometimes tannins if it’s red wine.
The molecules are completely natural, and won’t harm you if you drink them - however, many people prefer a clearer, smoother wine.
Many vintners will only sell their wine if it’s crystal clear - which is why wine goes through the fining process.
The animal products get added during the fining process - fining agents are added to filter the wine and ensure that the wine is clear, fresh, and smooth.
It can also get rid of any unwanted textures, aromas, and flavours caused by the sediment. Many fining agents contain animal products - some ingredients may include:
- Fish oil
- Fish bladder gelatin
- Bone marrow
- Milk proteins
- Egg whites
- Chitin (crustacean shell polymer)
Although the fining agents are removed once the wine has been fined, a trace of the animal product may remain, making it unsuitable if you only consume plant-based food and drink.
The good news is that there are options that don’t contain animal products. Some vintners will use pea gelatine instead, which is a suitable alternative. Some other alternatives include silica gel, silica clay, or kaolin (clay mineral).
What Are The Benefits of Plant-Based Wine?
More and more people are opting for a plant-based diet for a reason - it’s thought to be a lot better for your health and for the environment. Most plant-based wines are better if you're on a low carb diet too, which is always a bonus.
You may have heard through the grapevine that the occasional glass of red wine is good for you. This is partly true - as wine contains an antioxidant called resveratrol.
Resveratrol is an anti-ageing chemical that can protect you from cancer as well as lengthen your lifespan.
Organic wines typically contain higher levels of resveratrol - up to 32% more than your standard red wine.
Vegan and plant-based wines contain fewer sulphites. Sulphites (aka sulphur dioxide) are chemicals that can cause an allergic reaction, which can present itself in a rash, blotchy skin, and even stomach issues.
People with severe asthma may also want to steer clear of sulphites, as it can have dangerous effects.
If you ever get a headache after drinking a glass of wine, it’s probably due to high levels of sulphites.
Fewer Dangerous Chemicals
Many vegan and plant-based wines are also organic, which reduces the number of chemicals used in the winemaking process.
Organic vintners don’t use artificial chemicals on their vineyards - so their herbicides, pesticides, and fertilizers are all-natural.
Nothing artificial is added to the wine during the filtration process, so organic and plant-based wine is far less likely to cause you health problems if you drink it in moderation.
Better For The Environment
One of the main reasons that people opt for plant-based and vegan options is because it’s better for the environment.
Chemicals used in vineyards can damage the soil and prevent crops from growing in the future, as well as affecting the nearby wildlife and water supplies.
The animal farming industry is also very harmful to the environment, but on a much larger scale.
It’s one of the leading causes of global warming, and one of the biggest polluters on the planet, producing more waste than any other industry.
An exceptional amount of energy is required to feed, transport, store and maintain livestock, and thousands of acres of our forests are cut down to accommodate the demand for space.
Our forests absorb greenhouse gases, so deforestation is heating up our planet.
Free From Cruelty
Another key reason that people opt for a plant-based diet is to prevent animal cruelty.
Making positive changes, whether it be going completely plant-based or simply enjoying a plant-based wine can reduce the demand for animal products.
Lower demand for animal products means that fewer animals are suffering in slaughterhouses and farms.
In the UK, over a billion animals are bred and killed for food per year - and most of these animals will spend their lives cooped up in cages, and many will be killed before they reach two months old.
Adopting a plant-based diet for one month will save around 30 animals. Animals will suffer simply to ensure that wine is clear - the egg whites used in the fining process will most likely come from a chicken that has never seen sunlight, or gelatin and bone marrow will come from livestock that has suffered.
What About Other Types of Alcohol?
It’s not just wine that you need to watch out for when choosing an alcoholic beverage while on a plant-based diet.
Keep reading to find out whether beer and spirits are vegan.
Contrary to popular belief, not all beer is vegan or plant-based. If you have a plant-based diet, it’s important that you’re careful when choosing your alcohol of choice.
Similar to wine, animal products get added during the fining process. Products such as gelatin or isinglass will be used to ensure the beer is smooth and clear, instead of cloudy.
However, many beers are vegan - some brewers will use moss as a fining agent, which is perfect for those who have an entirely plant-based diet.
Some brewers will add honey to their beer, which can also make the beer non-plant-based.
Many brewers won’t advertise their plant-based beers as plant-based, so if you’re unsure, always check the ingredients or ask other people who have a plant-based diet what their go-to beer brand is.
The majority of spirits are suitable if you have a plant-based diet. However, cream-based liqueurs are unsuitable, as they typically contain animal products unless stated otherwise.
Some spirits will also use honey - usually types of whiskey, rums, or liqueurs, and honey can make an alcohol non-plant-based.
Another alcoholic drink to watch out for is Campari. Campari contains an ingredient called cochineal, which is a red dye made using dried female insects. Cocktails may also contain animal products, usually in tiny amounts.
The Vegan Society confirmed that pretty much all brands of hard liquor are plant-based, and use vegan processing to ensure that spirits are inclusive for everybody.
Organic Vegan Piccino Frizzante Prosecco & Sparkling Rosé (12x200ml)
Always enjoy your fabulous wines, great service again👍🥂🥂
Great tasting Prosecco. I Love the fact it’s better for you but you aren’t missing the flavour or changing the flayat all
Love this wine, very tasty, low cal and no headache the next day. Lovely service and quick delivery from company and this is now my regular drink. They also have good discount offers regularly and I’m nice and stocked up for Xmas. Thank you Think Wine x
Not only is this a gorgeous Prosecco but customer service equally fantastic. My delivery went missing. The team couldn’t do enough to rectify this and even threw in some goodies as an apology. Thank you Team Think!
Wow what can I say…. this is without a doubt my favourite Prosecco everrrr! With fewer calories it’s a no brainer, game changing awesome idea! I’m a total convert and future loyal customer! Love love love!
These little 200ml bottles are perfect just having the one or two. Haha perfect size love them! ❤ the prosecco is very yummy and no headache yet!!
This wine is so good! Unfortunately, won’t be able to order too often because it’s expensive. However, it’s worth the money.
I love the small bottles
Really lovely sparkling wine even though it’s low cal. It’s now my new favourite drink. Great customer service and delivery. Would defo recommend.
Only one minor point is that as I actually do prefer the rose it would be great if there was an option to purchase 6 of either just rose, or white, instead of just mixed. I still enjoy the white though. Apologies if it an option and I’ve missed it. Thank you
It’s smooth and delicious. Their service is top notch and delivery is quick. Also perfect as gifts, just bought 2. One for housewarming and another for a colleague’s promotion.
Done an 8k run the day after I’d drank the full bottle. Would never ever normally be able to do that’s but the no hangover thing is real. Wow such a difference
Very nice wine ..refreshing and easy to drink will continue to order but will order the small bottles as it’s tempting to drink the whole bottle !!
My first time buying the Rose small bottles. Greta fast delivery too . it’s not sweet but perfectly fizzy all the way to the end of the glass.
Wasn’t sure to start with but one you get used to the very slight difference in taste it s a game changer! Less calls and I would say less Prosecco head hang overs! Bottles are gorgeous and packaging great. Delivery all fab too.